DHS Announces Extension of US/CA/MX Border Restrictions Due to COVID-19

May 20, 2020 | United States of America

On May 21, 2020, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) will extend the current COVID-19 border restrictions among the United States, Canada, and Mexico through June 22, 2020.

The border restrictions apply to passenger ferry, passenger rail, and pleasure boat travel among the three countries. Air travel is exempt from the travel restrictions. The restrictions were initially implemented on March 20, 2020 for 30 days. They were extended again in April until May 21st and will now be extended through June 22nd.

The temporary travel restrictions will continue to limit the travel of individuals at the U.S. – Mexico and U.S. – Canada borders. Only travel for essential purposes will be permitted through June 22nd or until further notice. Essential travel includes U.S. citizens and permanent residents returning to the United States, people traveling to the U.S. for work purposes, lawful cross-border trade (such as trucks delivering goods), and travel for other specific purposes such as attending school or receiving medical treatment.

At this time, the travel restrictions are scheduled to remain in place through June 22nd. However, they may be amended, rescinded, or extended based on the fluid COVID-19 situation.