New E.U. Approved Travel List Excludes U.S.

June 30, 2020 | United States of America

The European Union will relax some COVID-19 travel restrictions on July 1st, but travel to the E.U. remains suspended for the U.S.

Starting tomorrow, the E.U. will reopen its external borders to select travelers. The E.U. Council has voted to allow travelers from 15 select countries to enter the E.U. However, a travel ban remains in effect for many countries, including the United States. The E.U. Council’s decision on which countries to include or exclude from its approved travel list was based largely on the number of COVID-19 cases reported in a country within the past 14 days, the trend of COVID-19 cases nationwide, and the government’s response to the COVID-19 crisis. The E.U. is not permitting travelers from the U.S. at this time due to the high volume of COVID-19 cases reported nationwide within the past two weeks and new outbreaks in certain states. While epidemiological factors were the primary basis for the E.U. Council’s approved travel list, it also considered reciprocal travel bans. Currently, the U.S. is not accepting travelers from most countries in the E.U.

Although the travel ban applies to the entire European Union, individual countries can impose travel restrictions at their discretion based on local COVID-19 conditions.

The travel ban will be revised regularly to account for changing conditions.

* Please note, exceptions apply to the travel ban.  Pearl clients, please contact your dedicated account manager with questions pertaining to your current situation.