New Resolution Establishes New Entry Permit System, Other Changes

December 3, 2019 | Colombia

Under a new resolution that took effect on December 1, 2019, three new entry permits have replaced the entry permits formerly issued to visa-waived nationals upon entry to Colombia. Other changes have been implemented for nationals of bordering countries, and residents of countries that are members of certain trade blocs together with Colombia. 

The three new entry permits are:

Tourism Permit: This permit will be issued upon entry for all tourism and business visits by visa-waived nationals, replacing the former entry permits for these purposes, such as the PIP-5 tourism permit and PIP-6 business permit. Tourism permit holders will still be allowed to stay for up to 90 days initially, with one 90-day extension possible, for a maximum cumulative stay of 180 days per calendar year. An invitation letter from a Colombian entity must be presented on arrival in order to obtain this permit. 

Integration and Development Permit: This permit will enable the performance of a variety of activities, including supporting educational programs and exchanges. The stay permitted will vary by activity but the maximum stay allowed will be up to 90 days initially, with one 90-day extension possible.

Permit to Develop other Activities (PDA): This permit replaces the PIP-7 for foreign nationals who need to conduct urgent technical services and will be used for other activities as well. The process for securing the PDA for urgent technical services and the duration of stay permitted are not expected to change from those of the PIP-7: the foreign national will request the PDA at the port of entry after the host company obtains the authorization of the immigration authorities and may stay for 30 days. The PIP-7 is not renewable and it is unclear if the same will apply to the PDA. Unlike the previous law, the new resolution states that the PDA may be used for technical services only if the host company cannot find a local worker to conduct them. 

Other Changes

  • A new type of document, the Electronic Migratory Card, will be issued upon entry to residents of Comunidad Andina de Naciones (CAN) and MERCOSUR member countries (Argentina, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Ecuador, Paraguay, Peru and Uruguay) who enter with an identification document other than a passport. 
  • Another new document, the Border Mobility Card, will become available to citizens of bordering countries that travel to Colombia frequently. 
  • Visa nationals that have permanent residence status in a MERCOSUR, CAN, or Pacific Alliance member country will be visa waived for entry to Colombia.