Seven More Countries Can Now Use ePassport Gates

June 5, 2019 | United Kingdom

Visitors to the United Kingdom from Australia, Canada, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, South Korea and the United States may now use the ePassport gates at ports across the UK.

ePassport gates were introduced to British and EU nationals back in 2008. After Brexit takes effect, EU nationals will still be able to use the ePassport gates along with the nationals of the 7 additional countries.

Facial recognition technology to copare the passenger’s face to the difgital image recorded in their passport is used. If you are rejected at the gates, you will be sent to a manned passport check to have your identity and passport verified.

The gates may be used by those nationals over the age of 18, and who are travelling using a biometric passport. If a minor age 12-17 is traveling with an adult, they are also eligible to use the gates