Entry Suspended for Visa and Residence Permit Holders Due to COVID-19

March 27, 2020 | China

The National Immigration Administration of China’s Ministry of Foreign Affairs has published a policy indicating that foreign nationals who hold any type of visa or residence permit will not be permitted to enter China due to the COVID-19 situation. This policy will take effect at 12:00 am on March 28, 2020 and includes holders of port visas and the APEC Business Travel Card, as well as those transiting through China under the 24/72/144-hour visa-free transit policy and those traveling under the Hainan 30-day visa-free policy. 

Entry with diplomatic, service, courtesy or C visas (issued to foreign nationals who provide international transportation services) will not be suspended. Those engaged in emergency humanitarian work or “necessary economic, trade, scientific or technological activities” will also be allowed to enter. Those with visas issued after this announcement was made are also not included in the travel ban.